Discover Brantford Blog

Finalists Announced for 2019 Brantford Sports Council Awards

Finalists Announced for 2019 Brantford Sports Council Awards

On Wednesday, February 13th, the Brantford Golf and Country Club will be the setting for the annual event that brings together local youth sport, shines a light on all the incredible activities they contribute to the community and will honour their great achievements.

The finalists for the 14th Annual Brantford Sports Council Sports Recognition Banquet are:

The Phyllis Gretzky Memorial Award – Female Youth Leadership

Nicole Kelly – BCI Girls Hockey

Caeley Salmon – Brant Synchro Club

Alexa Windle – Brantford Track & Field Club

The Frank Bricker Memorial Award – Male Youth Leadership

Tristan Berridge – Brantford Aquatic Club

Ethan Jamieson – Brant & District Football Club

Josh Linington – Brantford Track & Field Club

The Jimmy Wilkes Memorial Award – Team of the Year

Brantford Bisons Bantam Spring Football – Brant & District Football Club

Brantford Diamondbacks Under 10 Girls Softball – Brantford Softball

Brantford Minor Hockey Minor AAA Midget – Brantford Minor Hockey

The John Macklin Memorial Award – Coach of the Year

Sean Doucette – Brantford Track & Field Club

Andrea Hawkins – Brantford CYO Girls Basketball

Scott Rex – Brantford Minor Hockey

The Adrian Scherders Memorial Award – Sportsmanship and Dedication

Jacob Alway – Brantford Youth Flag Football

Angela Marina – Brantford Aquatic Club

Jacob Sheppard – North Park Track & Field Club

The George Churchill Memorial Award – Sports Volunteer of the Year

Michelle Cabral – Brantford Aquatic Club

Dan Davis – Brantford Youth Flag Football

Lisa Link – Brant Synchro Club

The George Jones Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Volunteerism

Crosby Gibson – Brantford Aquatic Club

Bill Williams – Bell City Boxing Club

Stan Worosz – Arnold Anderson Sport Fund

The Jack Calbeck Memorial Award – Lifetime Sports Sponsorship


K & D Insulation Ltd.

Millards Chartered Professional Accountants

Dave Levac Award – The Award of Excellence for Sports Officiating

Mark Baxter – Brant Norfolk Referrees Association

Shannon Scheffel – Brantford Aquatic Club

George Whittingham – Brantford City Soccer Club


The event’s keynote speaker will be 2018 Brantford and Area Sports Hall of Recognition Inductee Lance Vipond. Lance began skating at the age of 3 at the Brant Skating Club and has competed in both national and international competitions. Lance competed at four Senior national championships between 1991 and 1996 before retiring at age 24. He has since gone on to a choreography career that has been highlighted by his recent work with Canadians Katelyn Osmond and Keegan Messing. Osmond is the 2018 Olympic bronze medallist and current world champion, while Messing also competed in the 2018 Olympics.

Congratulations to all the finalists. It’s never easy to pick just one, so when it comes to this community--they are all winners. Thank you to the Brantford Sports Council for continuing this event that recognizes amateur sport.


For more information and to order tickets visit or email 

What:             Brantford Sports Council Sports Awards Banquet

When:            Wednesday, February 13, 2019. Doors open: 6:00pm, Dinner: 7:00pm.

Where:          Brantford Golf & Country Club

Tickets:         $60.00 per person


Brantford Sports , Brantford Golf and Country Club , Brantford Sports Council Awards , Youth Sports


Sports, Events


Search Posts

Connect With Us

Blog Categories

Recent Blogs

Blog Archives